Office of the Deputy Commissioner

General Administration

Office of the Deputy CommissionerDeputy Commissioner is the head of the District administration. The Deputy Commissioner is the executive head as well as judicial head of the district. The DC is aided by a number of officers like Additional Deputy Commissioner, Sub-Divisional Officers of Civil Sub-Divisions and Extra Assistant Commissioners to assist him in different type of activities.

As executive head the DC plays an important role in coordinating with all developmental heads of the district for all round developmental activities under various programmes such as M.P. scheme (MPLAD), MLA’s scheme, Border areas development funds, Employment assurance schemes and so on. The District Planning Officer is assigned to see, formulate and release of fund for development scheme. There also exists the District Rural Development Agency (DRDA) and the DC is the Chairman of the said agency. The Project Director is the functional head of the agency. All schemes of rural development are implemented by Block Development Officers and the necessary funds are routed through this agency.

Administrative Officers

Name Designation Holding Charges Contact Number E-mail Id
Shri Ram Singh, IAS Deputy Commissioner   223835/ 223806(O)/ 223826(R)
Shri. Jagdish Chelani, IAS Sub Divisional Officer( Sadar) Planning Branch, District Coordinator, Swatch Bharat Mission, Jal Jivan Mission, Aadhaar Enrolment, Skill Development, Law and Order Duty  
Shri C.N. Sangma, MCS Additional Deputy Commissioner & Project Director DRDA, Registration,Law & Order Cell, Spl Asstt. to Commissisoner of Division, Housing, ADM Judicial(Executive), RTI  
Dr. Rezina Ch Marak, MCS Additional Deputy Commissioner Establishment Branch, Revenue Branch, MPSC/SSC, Releif, Revenue and Distaster Management, Circuit House, I.c Protocol & Govt. Programme & Nazareth Branch  
Smti. Dimseritha A Sangma, MCS Extra Assistant Commissioner EAC Election, General Branch,EAC RTI, Magisterial Inquiry, Birth & Death Certifiacte and Law & Order;  
Smti. Rezia Ch Sangma, MCS Extra Assistant Commissioner & CEO EAC C.M. Cell,EAC Establishment,EAC Circuit House, Magisterial Inquiry, Law & order, Protocol and Bakijai  
Shri. Tennystar R Marak, MCS Extra Assistant Commissioner EAC Rev & Relief,EAC Registration,Birth & Death Certificate, Law & Order, Protocol , EAC Certificate Cell and Magisterial Inquiry 9436728421  

Law and Order

Maintenance of law and order is another important aspect of district administration to give proper security and to safeguard the lives and properties of the citizen. In this regard the DC act as the District Magistrate for maintenance of law and order in the district. The District Magistrate is assisted by Additional District Magistrate, Sub-Divisional Magistrates and other Executive Magistrates and keeps close link with police department for necessity. The Superintendent of Police is the head of the Police Administration.


In revenue matter the DC is assisted by ADC i/c of Revenue and other Revenue and Enforcement staff. There is constitutionally recognized Garo Hills Autonomous District Council in West Garo Hills District. Hence all types of revenue collection like settlement of Hats (Bazar), Ghats, Ponds, Ferries, Professional tax are directly dealt by Dist. Council, except matters like acquisition of Govt. land, encroachment of Govt. land, allotment of land to central department, payment of compensation money etc.

Natural Calamity

The DC plays a key role during Natural disaster period like flood, earthquake, landslide, cyclone/storm damage or fire incidence. The DC generally takes prompt action whenever situation arises in any part of the district, and provides assistance either in cash or kind to the victims according to the nature of damage.

Besides all these the DC being the head of the district also holds the post of Chairman of various committee, colleges, schools, Banks etc.


Development Branch

Deputy Commissioner (Development) is responsible for implementation of various state & centrally sponsored Schemes & Block Establishment. State sponsored schemes are

MLA Schemes

Scheme Annual Allocation Head of Department
Special Rural Works Programme (SRWP) Rs. 1 Crore for each LA  Director, C & RD Shillong
Construction of Rural Road Programme (CRRP) Rs. 5 lakh / constituency
Chief Minister Special Rural Development Fund (CMSRDF) Rs. 5 lakh / constituency
Intensive Arts & Culture Development Programme (IA&CDP) Rs. 2.5 lakh / constituency Director of Arts & Culture
Development of Traditional Folk Music (DTFM) Rs. 2.5 lakh / constituency
Intensive Sports & Youth Development Programme (ISYDP) Rs. 2.5 lakh / constituency Director, Sports & Youth Department
General CD Scheme Rs. 1 lakh to Rs. 7 lakh Director, C&RD Shillong

MPLADS (Lok Sabha & Rajya Sabha)

Scheme sponsored by the Ministry of Statistics & Programme Implementation, Government of India.

Annual Allocation: Rs.2 Crore (Rupees two crore) per MP Constituency.
MPLADS (LS) – Schemes benefited for entire Garo Hills.
MPLADS (RS) – Schemes benefited for whole state of Meghalaya.
Nodal District – Deputy Commissioner, West Garo  Hills, Tura.
State Nodal Department – Director, Programme Implementation & Evaluation, Shillong.


SC/ST certificates are issued to the citizen belong to scheduled tribe and scheduled caste communities. This certificate holds immense importance in view of the citizen of the district as the district is a tribal majority district. Garo Tribal community forms the major population of the district. Other than Garos many other tribal communities reside in the district like Hajong, Koch, Rabha and also Khasi and Jaintia. Other than that the branch also handles issue of other certificates like PRC, Domicile and Senior Citizen Certificate.

Establishment Branch

This branch is responsible for managing the establishment jobs like maintaining the employees service books, transfer & posting, tours, profident fund, leave, grants for advance etc.


Schemes implemented by the District Planning Office:

Scheme Head of Department
Block Level Science Fair Science and Technology Cell under Planning Department, Shillong
National Childrens’ Science Congress
National Science Day
Voluntary Action Fund  Planning Department, Shillong
Chief Minister Youth Development Scheme Director, Sports and Youth Affairs, Meghalaya, Shillong
Integrated Basin Development and Livelihood Programme Planning Department, Shillong